World number one Novak Djokovic was disqualified in the U.S. Open fourth round after striking a line judge with a ball following a point during the first set of his match against Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta
NEW YORK - World number one Novak Djokovic was sensationally disqualified in the U.S. Open fourth round on Sunday after striking a line judge with a ball following a point during the first set of his match against Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta.
Tournament referee Soeren Friemel came out on to the Arthur Ashe Stadium and spoke to chair umpire Aurelie Tourte and Andreas Egli, the Grand Slam supervisor, before a long chat with the 33-year-old Serb, a three-time former U.S. Open winner. He later posted an apology on Instagram: “This whole situation has left me really sad and empty... I’m extremely sorry to have caused her such stress. So unintended. So wrong.
“It’s the right decision,” Tim Henman, who was disqualified from Wimbledon for a similar incident in 1995, told Amazon Prime. “He is not aiming for the line judge, but has hit the ball away and you have to be responsible for your actions.”
United States Latest News, United States Headlines
Similar News:You can also read news stories similar to this one that we have collected from other news sources.
Novak Djokovic out of U.S. Open after hitting lineswoman with tennis ballThe world’s top-ranked men’s tennis player, Novak Djokovic, has been defaulted from the U.S. Open after a ball he hit struck a line judge near the neck. usopen Djokovic
Read more »
Novak Djokovic out of US Open after accidentally hitting line judge with ballJUST IN: Top-seeded Novak Djokovic has been defaulted from his round of 16 match and is now out of the U.S. Open after accidentally hitting a line judge with a ball.
Read more »
Novak Djokovic disqualified from U.S. Open tournament for hitting line judge with ballThe three-time tournament champion accidentally hit the judge in a fit of anger during his fourth-round match against Spain's Pablo Carreno Busta.
Read more »
U.S. Open: Novak Djokovic out of tournament after hitting line judge with ballTop-seeded Novak Djokovic was defaulted from his fourth-round match at the U.S. Open after he accidentally hit a line judge with a tennis ball Sunday. It was a stunning end to Djokovic’s bid for an 18th Grand Slam title and his 26-0 start to this season.
Read more »
Novak Djokovic Booted from U.S. Open After Hitting Line Judge with BallOne bad swipe, and it's all over for Djokovic.
Read more »